15 Surprising Facts You Didn't Know About Iowa Basketball

Iowa basketball's mascot, Herky the Hawk, was named after former Iowa football player, Herb "Herky" Frederick.

The Hawkeyes' home court, Carver-Hawkeye Arena, was designed by renowned architect Cesar Pelli, who also designed the Petronas Towers in Malaysia.

Iowa basketball has produced 24 NBA players, including Hall of Famers Kevin Garnett and Don Nelson. 

The Hawkeyes' all-time leading scorer is Roy Marble, who scored 2,116 points during his career from 1985 to 1989.

Iowa basketball has won 8 Big Ten regular season championships and 3 Big Ten tournament championships.

Iowa's first NCAA tournament appearance came in 1955, and the Hawkeyes have made a total of 26 appearances in the tournament.

Iowa basketball has retired six jersey numbers, including those of Marble, B.J. Armstrong, and Chris Street.

Iowa's largest victory margin in a game came in 1995, when they defeated Prairie View A&M by a score of 139-76.

The Hawkeyes' biggest upset in program history came in 1987, when they defeated #1 ranked UNLV 104-86.

The Iowa women's basketball team has also had a lot of success, making 28 NCAA tournament appearances and winning 4 Big Ten regular season championships.

Iowa basketball has had some notable coaching alumni, including Lute Olson, who went on to coach at Arizona and lead them to a national championship.

In 1970, Iowa played in the tallest starting lineup in NCAA history, with an average height of 6'8".

Iowa's longest winning streak in program history came in 1987, when they won 14 consecutive games.

Iowa has had a number of memorable buzzer-beaters over the years, including a game-winning shot by Jordan Bohannon in 2018 to beat Northwestern.

Iowa basketball has a strong tradition of fan support, with the Hawkeyes consistently ranking among the top teams in the country in attendance.