Azure Active Directory (Azure AD) is a cloud-based directory and identity management service provided by Microsoft. It is used to manage and authenticate users for various Microsoft services, such as Office 365 and Azure. In this article, we will walk you through the process of deleting a user in Azure AD.
Step 1: Log in to the Azure portal To start, log in to the Azure portal using your Azure AD administrator credentials.
Step 2: Navigate to the Users tab Once logged in, click on the “Azure Active Directory” tab on the left sidebar, and then select “Users.” This will take you to a list of all the users in your Azure AD directory.
Step 3: Select the user you want to delete From the list of users, find the user that you want to delete and click on their name.
Step 4: Delete the user Once you have selected the user, you will see an option to “Delete” the user at the top of the screen. Click on “Delete” to remove the user from your Azure AD directory.
Step 5: Confirm deletion A pop-up window will appear, asking you to confirm the deletion of the user. Click on “Yes” to proceed with the deletion.
Deleting a user in Azure AD is a simple process that can be completed in just a few steps. By following the above steps, you can easily remove users from your Azure AD directory.
Frequently Asked Questions:
What happens when I delete a user in Azure AD?
When you delete a user in Azure AD, they will no longer have access to any services that are connected to your Azure AD directory. This includes Office 365 and Azure services.
Can I recover a deleted user in Azure AD?
Yes, you can recover a deleted user in Azure AD. When a user is deleted, they are moved to the recycle bin for 30 days. During this time, you can restore the user by clicking on the “Recycle bin” option in the Azure AD menu and selecting the user you want to restore.
Will deleting a user in Azure AD also delete their data?
No, deleting a user in Azure AD will not delete their data. However, they will no longer have access to it. If you need to delete a user’s data, you will need to take additional steps to do so.
Will deleting a user in Azure AD also remove their license?
Yes, deleting a user in Azure AD will also remove their license. This means that the deleted user will not be able to access any services that are connected to your Azure AD directory.